Blizzard > Your Wallet

I’m sure by now the vast majority of people “in tune” with the news surrounding WoW are aware of the Celestial Steed and Lil’ XT going live on the Blizzard store and the obscene amount of money Blizz has made in less than 24 hours. After trudging through the masses of people bitching and moaning I decided to take a slightly less “in your face” approach to voicing my opinions. Isn’t this blog thing starting to come in handy? 😛

As far as I’m concerned there are three main schools of thought on the topic of Blizzards “premium services”.

1) “Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie”: The first group is willing to drop any extra cash on things like in-game pets/mounts/transfers and see no ethical issues in doing so. They’re often some of the first to jump on board when something pops up in the Blizzard store and partially responsible for the initial wave of sales.

2) “I dunno…maybe”: The second group of people will pay for things like server/faction transfers to play with friends, but still aren’t willing to support the purchase of in-game items. Often times these people can’t justify spending money purely for cosmetic gain, all the power to ’em.

3) “Hell No!!!”: The third and final frame of mind is that of the harshest form of negative skepticism. This final group of people despise the fact that Blizz charges what they do for data transfers and in-game items and often suspects that we’re heading towards more game breaking “services”. These people are often the first to say that more success Blizzard sees from their recent sales model(s) the more screwed we all are…why would they stop now?

I’m not going to say that any of these schools of thought are wrong, everybody is entitled to just as much of an opinion as the next guy. I would consider myself a bit of a mix between groups 1 and 2. While there are some things I refuse to pay for (in-game mounts/pets/items) I don’t necessarily have an issue paying for a faction and/or server change to avoid re-rolling. I will say this though, the day Blizz starts offering gear/experience/gold for sale I’ll be gone for good.

Where do you see yourself, how do you feel about there now being not only pets, but a mount available on the Blizzard store? Are you worried about where Blizz may or may not go with this sales model?

– Cornelious

    • Dreadmoon
    • April 16th, 2010

    I have the Pandaren Monk, Little KT and the Celestial Steed. I will get the little XT.

    I do not see how having any of those 3 items has affected my play. The game it is still the same, only difference… now that I got the Steed there is no need to buy new mounts.

    Category 3 people are plainly stupid. There is no game impact about these purchases.

  1. Hello Cornelius

    I am too very interested in the various opinions about this mount. I myself would belong to the worried category, which I guess would be a 2½.

    I wrote an article about it myself, and briefly my opinion is that the mount has an empty narrative, or you could also say it has an out-of-game reference.

    I’m happy to know you’re acknowledging everyone’s personal opinion, as I find it important to have this discussion in the first place. It’s much worse to brush off scepticism as jealousy. I believe we have to be critical player-consumers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

