Cancelled Raids, What to Do?

I’m sure any of us that raid on a somewhat regular basis have encountered today’s topic, a cancelled raid. Learning that your weekly raid has been cancelled is always a pain no matter how much notice you have and for some of us this can really put a damper on WoW in general. I know many people who five years later, play this game to raid…and nothing else. You’ve got to wonder what goes on behind the scenes when a raid is called, how many people are truly put into a funk for the remainder of the night, how many simply brush it off and go about their business?

I suppose before one can answer this question it needs to be established where the answer is coming from. For many single gamers I’m sure that it’s not uncommon to see them remain in-game and possibly even start hunting for a PuG to fill the time slot. I would put myself in the next category, those of us WoW raiders who are married or otherwise in a relationship that is being effected by raid schedules. While I am a huge supporter of balance in one’s life, I also try to stay aware of my situation and how my choices affect my wife and family. More often than not if a raid is called due to attendance (or any other reason) I’ll typically make a stop at the AH, do my daily random heroic and log off. That is not to say that there aren’t married raiders who plan ahead of time to spend the alloted time in-game one way or another, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

I don’t tend to think there’s really a right way or a wrong way to go about this situation, everything boils down to your commitments outside the game and your life in general. I can say one thing for sure and that is that if I were single I could easily see myself spending a LOT more time in WoW…but is that necessarily a good thing? Since I started raiding on a scheduled basis I actually find that my home life has improved and the game has become more fun, albeit in a different way. Prior to raiding I would find myself aimlessly wondering Azeroth in search of something to do and more often than not hours would go by seemingly instantaneously. Not that it’s the only way to play the game, but raiding at regular times each week can actually add a great deal of purpose to your game time.

What about you, what’s the first thing that crosses your mind when you learn that a raid has been called? I wouldn’t consider any response incorrect but I do urge you to put some serious thought into why you do what you do in WoW and if adding a scheduled event such as raiding might help give more purpose to your $15/month investment.

- Cornelious

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

